So I’ve decided to try a guided math/math workshop structure in my math class this coming year. I’ve got Laura Candler’s ebook on Math Centres so I will be preparing some of those activities for the coming year. I would love to hear any suggestions you might have on setting this up. I have a split 4/5 class this coming year and I know I have a lot of struggling math students. What have you tried that has worked?

I’m also looking at incorporating journals into my class. I believe I will have to perhaps start one or two small things and gradually add things in as I go.

I’ve also seen some amazing resources from the website ReallyGoodStuff.com – things for organizing as well as resources. Ahhh, if only I had an unlimited budget. I purchased some of Dinah Zikes foldables books too, so I will spend some time, making some of the foldables to see how hard it will be for 9 & 10 year olds to do and if I will have to do some pre-work of folding and cutting for them.

About jengraff

I am a Junior teacher in Ontario (grades 4-6). I've been teaching for about 12 years and one of the things I like to do best is learn new things. I enjoy gardening, reading (duh), word games, interacting online, and much much more. I'm a dabbler in whatever takes my fancy. As a teacher, I often struggle with assessing my students in their knowledge of math - do they understand it or have they just learned the algorithm. I'm creating this blog to share what I've learned about assessment and to learn what others are willing to share as well.

2 responses »

  1. Julie says:

    When I was hired at my current school, I was told that math would be taught in small group similar to reading groups. This was new to me, but I was ready for a challenge. I love teaching this way! My grade level teaches math this way and we see a difference.

    I set up a wheel that divides the time into various activities – teacher, independent work and stations (games, reinforcement ativities, etc). I divide the students into different groups, and I divide each group into 3 sections. I name the big groups a color (green, orange, red) and I divide each color group into shapes (circle, triangle, square). I do this so that when a group is at station time, they are split into 3 activities. I may only have 3 out of the 6-8 students at the computer or playing a game. This helps with sound/activity management.

    The students only go to one station each day, but go to all 3 rotations (teacher, independent work and station). On the first day when each group gets to “stations” they split – triangles do the first activity, squares do the second activity and circles do the third. It is written on the chart and they are activities they can do alone. The next day I rotate the station (triangles will do the second activity at “station” time, squares do the third and circles do the first). This gives me 3 days before I have to change the station activities, and some will stay for several weeks. I usually have computer as a station, sometimes a game may stay for a week or two (such as the game Bagels), this might include time to work on a project, too. Sometimes I have 4 rotations – teacher, independent work, stations, and science. I still have 3 math groups, so I can pull kids again that need it or arrange materials for a science lab. This way works the best for me. I don’t have anyone at independent work for the first round and no one at teacher the last round (unless I pull specific students). This builds in reteach time.

    I wish you the best as you move towards this!

    • jengraff says:

      Do you keep the groups the same or change them up. I think the way you have this organized is terrific and I may incorporate this. I just listened to Laura Candler’s Daily Math Puzzler Webinar and (even though I have 6 weeks before we go back) am quite excited to get started preparing stations.
      Thanks somuch for your input.

Leave a Reply

